From Journalism to Blogging

My journey to social media started when I became a reporter.

One of the people I consider as a mentor in RPN 9  was printing around 50 pages of Google ads guidelines. Curious, I approached him and asked what was that all about. He explained the potential of the digital market for earning and livelihood.

As I was a fresh grad around 11 years ago, I told myself, I would work hard and learn the ropes of journalism.  I figured, good content meant competent writing and credible sourcing. I’d often come home late, making sure I spent enough time getting a good grasp of how to write well. I knew that investing in this skill would eventually pay off.

Laboring through breaking news and low pay was my training ground. It made me fast as well as tough.  I am grateful to all my bosses and  colleagues in RPN,  ABS-CBN News Online, Solar News, and the other magazines/online publications I worked for.

I dabbled into the PR world as well, being a consultant for then Department of Budget and Management Secretary Rolando Andaya. I also worked as a consultant in a firm which had banks as clients.  My first full time digital job however was between 2012 and 2014 when I lived in Bicol.

After my dad died, I had to look for work and Senator Alan Peter Cayetano took me in to manage his social media. I had to learn fast because I knew that “social” was a vital platform in spreading our message for the country. It was an amazing experience as I was able to meet volunteers and supporters who all aspired for change.

Fast forward to today, I am now columnist for http://www.conceptnewscentral.com and Senator Cayetano is still my boss.

I love my country and I support President Duterte. I believe in the change he represents and wants for the country.

Leave a Reply

